curious-incident

When I first heard of this book I was very much intrigued by it. Who killed the dog. Who was writing the story. And so on. My initial thought was “why are the chapters numbered like this?” but this was soon explained. Do not get thrown of with the fact that the first chapter is labeled 2. It really is 1.
After a while, now getting into the story, the protagonist is just slightly frustrating me. Nothing against him, hes doing well for his mentality, however there are situations that he could be handling better.
His situation handling gets a slight bit worse and more worrying the further one reads on. Following a protagonist in their teens gives the readers different ideas of how society is seen through other peoples eyes and how it is very important to treat everyone with respect.

I am surprised with how this book turned out. I believed that it would be slightly better written and the plot would be more enticing. I gave the book such a low score because it was not quite what I thought it would be. It was a quick read that was not challenging in plot or language, but the sentence structure and grammar were different to that of usual, in order to convey the state of the 15 year old protagonist who lives with a mental condition. As far as the mystery aspect of this book goes, it was not very mysterious. Yes, the idea is to find out who killed the dog and this is done so, it is explained. But the process of decoding is missing to some extent. Everything comes as one blow.
It did not take a long time to read this book, it was more being flustered by the irrational choices made my the main character and the influence of others on him.

I gave this book 2 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

Quotations:
“his face was drawn but the curtains were real” (10)
“If you raise one eyebrow it can mean lots of things. It can mean “I want to do sex with you” and it can also mean “I think that what you just said was very stupid.” (19)
“Which means that a murder victim is usually killed by someone known to them and fairies are made out of paper and you can’t talk to someone who is dead.” (113)

