All books by Carlos Ruiz Zafón have a special place in my heart and I believe that I have in fact read every single one of them (no shame).
So naturally, when I stumbled upon The Prisoner of Heaven I was super excited to read it. Unfortunately, it took quite a while for me to get into it, not so much due to the plot but more due to wasting time and not reading (big mistake, do not recommend). Thus when I finally got around to it, it took little time to get into it and be through with it.

The plot follows the already known to readers Daniel Sempere, however now with the addition of his friend Fermín, who introduces the new mystery into his life after recollecting a particular event. However warnings from said friend forbid Daniel to follow the mystery, hut there are other problems to solve regarding Fermín. The book is enticing with every page turn as you scramble along with the protagonist to uncover the secrets.

I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

This novel can fit into any time of year, as once you get into it, it can be read within a few days and none of them will appear to have been missed.I recommend this book to anyone with time to spare and dedicate to an engaging mystery. It’s a quick read that is appropriate for many readers as it covers a plethora of genres that may interest different people.

Quotes from the text;
‘Is the gentleman a collector?’
‘I suppose you could call me that. But not of books.’
(11)
In this world, everything is a fake, young man. Everything except money. (12)
…clothes maketh not the man… (14)
…his body seemed mostly composed of cartilage and attitude… (25)
This veins of black water bled down the stone walls… (60)
Madmen always think it’s the others who are mad. (80)
One musn’t dream of one’s future; one must earn it. (102)
Turned out that all that glittered wasn’t gold. (219)

