I bought this book while I was on holiday in Iceland in 2013 in a small vintage bookshop and cafe, as a souvenir in a sense. It seems to always take me quite a while to get to a book after I buy it, many times unfortunately. Majority of the time it’s during trips that I read the most, either on the train or on planes, and time just seems to pass quicker as the pages turn. Mysteries always seem to find their way into my annual reading, as did this one. My Soul to Take takes place in a small coastal village in Iceland, following the lawyer and main character, Thora through an investigation concerning a hotel. After questioning everyone that would have even some motive, and a few bumps in the road whilst trying to get around the police who do not seem to be in favor of her theories, she gets to the bottom of the situation.

IMG_1173

I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.
As I gave it such a high rating, I would recommend it to many people, mainly those who enjoy a mystery once in a while. An overall gripping read that goes by relatively quickly due to the way it’s written. A fast paced adventure that grasps the reader along the twists and turns of the plot. A great read for when traveling or when trying to pass time.

