I am the Messenger will probably not make it to my favorite books that I’ve read, but regardless of that it was an enjoyable novel. It starts quite abruptly, with a bank robbery, and thus follows the protagonist Ed Kennedy through his Australian town on different adventures.
(I only learned about the setting being Australia after I finished it, and spent some parts of the book confused as to why it was over 30 degrees Celsius in the winter.)
His ‘adventures’ are not typical teenage things either. Each activity has some kind of a purpose to make him a better Ed.

The read is not tedious, there are significant moments where the book becomes a clear page turner as we get closer to the climax of the piece. As it is a book written in the first person, at times, it is easy to relate to the character and his struggle. This also makes the text quite easy to read and follow along, which I find always to be a plus. Despite giving the book 4 out of 5 stars, my honest score would be closer to 3.5 stars as there were parts that I felt where slightly repetitive and others where slow paced and wouldn’t be one that I would reach for anytime soon. Despite this, it is a book that I would recommend. Not necessarily as a summer time book, but more of a fall or winter text.

I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

Processed with VSCO with p5 preset
Processed with VSCO with p5 preset

Quotes from the text;
The gun feels warm and sticky, like melting chocolate in my hand. (14)
… it would have been nice to be making love instead of attempting murder. (122)
Even his voice sounds like a hangover. (193)
… and taste the joy that leaks from inside him. (426)

