As my reading has gone downhill slightly, and I know that I will not be reviewing Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë after I finish it, a tag seems a perfectly reasonable post. So I went on a hunt to find tags, and I stumbled upon DreamlandBookBlog and their Bookshelf Scavenger Hunt (which features beautiful photos of all her books, and is a super old tag, but do check her out regardless).

Now, there is a super long list of things to find, but I’ve decided to skip out on some of them and only do the ones that are in bold, which are the only ones I was able to find. As there are a few images that will go into the tag, I’ve only added them where I have either not read the book or not reviewed it. All the others are linked to the post where you can see the cover.

Find an author’s name or title with the letter Z in it
Find a classic
Find a book with a key on it
Find something on your bookshelf that’s not a book
Find the oldest book on your shelf
Find a book with a girl on the cover
Find a book with a boy on the cover
Find a book that has an animal in it
Find a book with a male protagonist
Find a book with only words on it
Find a book with illustrations in it
Find a book with gold lettering
Find a book written by someone with a common name
Find a book that has a close up of something on it
Find a book on your shelf that takes place in the earliest time period
Find a hardcover book without a jacket – I literally don’t own any hardcover books because I find them so hard to read
Find a teal/turquoise colored book
Find a book with stars on it
Find a non YA book
Find the longest book you own
Find the shortest book you own
Find a book with multiple points of view
Find a shiny book
Find a book with flowers on it

Here we go!

Find an author’s name or title with the letter Z in it

This was relatively easy, as I have read, not too long ago, I am the Messenger by Markus Zusak.

Find a classic

I seem to either love or hate classics, but I have read some in my time, and despite having a few on my shelf, it seems reasonable to mention my favorite one here. And that being The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald.

Find the oldest book on your shelf

The most worn out book  with yellowing pages on my shelf is A Caribbean Mystery by Agatha Christie from the year 2000, however the original text was published in 1964. And yes,  I have Dracula by Bram Stoker on my shelf, but it was purchased just a few months ago and I wanted to feature something that looked old.

Find a book with a girl on the cover

The book I chose for this is Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov, which I have yet to read.

IMG_2249

Find a book with a boy on the cover

I feel like the majority of books that I read are centered around a male character, but the covers are relatively blank no, but the one I chose is The Prisoner of Heaven by Carlos Ruiz Zafón, which just so happens to have a man running.

Find a book that has an animal in it

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins! I thought I wouldn’t have one of these, but here we are.

Processed with VSCO with tk preset
Processed with VSCO with tk preset

Find a book with a male protagonist

Another of my favorites, and one that was one of the first books that I read and published on this blog is The Five People You Meet in Heaven by Mitch Albom.

Find a book with only words on it

I was so into this, that I nearly forgot about my edition of The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger, which features typography by Seb Lester.

Find a book with illustrations in it

A classic Christmas story always has illustrations, so naturally, A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens has to be featured somewhere here.

Processed with VSCO with a4 preset
Processed with VSCO with a4 preset

Find a book with gold lettering

Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith is one of the few texts that I have that have gold lettering featured somewhere on the cover, in this case it’s the authors name.

Find a book on your shelf that takes place in the earliest time period

I think Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe is the one text on my shelf that is the oldest, and as it was published in 1719 it likely is so.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Find a teal/turquoise colored book

The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer has a beautiful cover (one of the reasons I bought it), which features a mix of teals, blacks, and blues.

Find a non YA book

The Collector by John Fowles is labeled as a horror novel. Though it is an uncomfortable read I would not call it a horror, however it definitely does not fit the young-adult genre.

Find the longest book you own

The longest book that is sat on my read / to be read bookshelf is the entire trilogy of 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami. This book looks like a brick.

Find the shortest book you own

The Strange case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson is literally like 75 pages. The edition that I have is extended with another short story present in it hence making the whole text appear twice the size.

Find a book with flowers on it

P.S. I Love You by Cecelia Ahern has a very simple cover, but has a relatively small bouquet of flowers thrown on there, making it a perfect candidate.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset
Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

I leave this tag open to whoever wants to do it too! Since I was not tagged but just did it because I needed something to post, it’s only reasonable for me to just tell anyone to join in the fun and spread this around.

