I was assigned The Picture of Dorian Gray, and like many students, I don’t read what is assigned at the time, but I get to it eventually. And it’s not like I was completely clueless as to what was going on in it, I had read just the right amount to write a great essay on it. Thus, the quotes are ones that likely made an appearance in my essay, but are nonetheless great ones.

This is really a slightly tragic novella, focusing on Dorian Gray, the main character. Oscar Wilde leads us through the slightly tragic downfalls of a few of the characters, primarily Dorian, who is clearly altered through his obsessions with all forms of art. Though a rather engaging text, there are elements that are slightly tedious to read – primarily moments between action

I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

Quotes
Some day you will look at your friend, and he seem to you to be a little out of drawing, or you won’t like his tone of color, or something. (14)
…to influence a person is to give him one’s own soul. (18)
…unselfish people are colorless. (67)
His eyes darkened, and the crowded, flaring streets became blurred to his eyes. (72)
The secret to remaining young is never to have an emotion that is unbecoming. (76)
They are charmingly artificial, but they have no sense of art. (90)
I am too much concentrated on myself, My own personality has become a burden to me. I want to escape, to go away, to forget. (178)
The soul is a terrible reality. It can be bought, and sold, and bartered away. It can be poisoned, or made perfect. (187)

