Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman

I saw this book floating around in 2018, and after reading the blurb, and seeing the slightly bizarre title, I was intrigued by it from the start. After grabbing a limited signed edition from Waterstones, I decided that it would make a great Christmas present from me to me. And here we are, some weeks later with a review of this, quite frankly, slightly strange but enticing read. The story start put with following the protagonist through her day to day routine, in this way introducing the reader to Eleanor, who she is as a person and her slightly strange quirks slowly become apparent the further into the initial chapters you read.

I didn’t really know what to expect from this book when I started it, but after getting through a significant amount over my flight and train ride between Norway and the UK, I knew that I was hooked. Granted, there are elements to it that are not as gripping as others, where the story slows down slightly in one chapter causing you to slow down. For myself, that’s when I seem to ‘give up’ slightly on reading, and when I take the longest break between putting down and picking the book up again. Regardless, I do think it’s still a relatively quick read.

The story itself is simple, in some way divided into three sections that, in some way circle back to how the story began. Over the course of the majority of the novel, each question is answered and every plot hole uncovered, and with all the knowledge, elements can be filled out. As with so many other books, there are things that you wish would happen, or assume that will, but in the end, do not but, regardless, the ending gives the most satisfying outcome to the story. Nothing extra and nothing missing. Even the final sentence of the novel is the perfect ending to it, and is exactly how it should be.

I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars – which for me, though been more common in the recent books I’ve read, still is rather unusual. Nonetheless, I thought this novel and definitely worth the rating. If you haven’t picked this book up yet, I definitely recommend picking it up because reading it is a breeze.


Quotes

A strong gust of wind could dislodge me completely, and I’d lift off and blow away, like one of those seeds in a dandelion clock. 6
‘He smelled like high game and liquefied Roquefort, if that’s any help.’ 31
Curb your rebellious tendencies. Stick to tea, coffee and vodka. 69
Such small coincidences can pepper a life with interest. 136
He was wearing a denim jacket, paler than his denim trousers. I hadn’t considered that a suit could be fashioned from denim, but there it was. 161
Another bad sign – someone or something had turned vodka into water. This was not my preferred kind of miracle. 273
I mean, it was completely fine, I had everything I needed, but it wasn’t all picnics and pillow fights. 297
The moment hung in time like a drop of honey from a spoon, heavy, golden. 382-383

2 Comments

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.