Book Your Summer – Literally

This summer, escape through fiction! Travelling anywhere at the minute is not exactly the easiest, or even advisable, but with book sales coming up (and with enough searching, a bargain can always be found) why not pick up a new book to journey with to another time, place, or even memory. As Waterstones called it, why not embark on some Armchair Travels? I saw this tag around Instagram, and, as I am in the midst of writing a dissertation, moving home to finish said dissertation and find a job, reading has not come as easily as it did in earlier years. So, in efforts to procrastinate my dissertation I thought I would reminisce on some books I read in earlier summers that could inspire others to read them. After all, book blogs don’t only have to be about reviews. I’ve stuck to prompts where I knew I had books for them, as some I was a little unclear on.

Now, I don’t go on holidays much, but when and if I ever do, I would rather take a long (read, very long) book and a short one with me; I’m all about convenience. Of course this depends on the length of the holiday and how much actual reading time you’ll have, but for me, that’s a good base number to start with. To this day I remember how ridiculous I must have looked carrying the whole 1Q84 trilogy, where the edition I have puts all three in one so you can imagine the size of the book, with me to the beach or the pool, or even pulling it out to read on the plane. But enough of the summer anecdotes, here are some books that helped me travel when traveling was not possible.


Processed with VSCO with a4 preset

Since traveling is a little tricky, the first book I’ll recommend is one that helped me travel to a different country. I home last summer, not doing much traveling between not knowing what or where I was going for education, and being in a weird headspace at the same time was not contributing to the mix. With that being said, there are many books that I have had the pleasure of reading that take place abroad, but every time I read a Carlos Ruiz Zafon book, I am enthralled by his descriptions of Spain in the early to mid 1900s, making me want to travel there with each page I turn. This was especially apparent when reading The Labyrinth of the Spirits over summer last year. It was warm back home, but reading these sent a chill down my spine, like a breeze you feel walking down an old cobble stoned street late at night.

Books that helped me time travel are a little tricky to pin down as I seem to be reading ones that are set in the present day, or just a couple of years prior to the date of publication, but, by scouring through by bookshelf and book reviews, I have found the one. The Great Gatsby is possibly the most obvious of choices for time travel, especially with it being set almost 100 years ago. For me, it’s a throwback in more ways than just being an old classic, it was also required reading as part of my Literature course in school. With beautiful settings and passages flowing like the alcohol that’s spilled at the parties, it is the rewarding throwback to the 1920’s that should grace reading lists at any time of the year.

Processed with VSCO with m6 preset

On a similar note to traveling in time, a book that transported me to an alternate universe was 1Q84. Murakami books are not ones that I aim to reach for, but since this was the first one that I ever read by the author, it has stuck with me, and even though it is bizarre, it is also one that I have fond memories reading. It’s not the most convenient book to carry around, but so worth having it all in one with the whole crazy adventure unfolding right at your fingertips.

Finding a book which made me fall in love again was one of the more challenging endeavors, I don’t seem to read books that help me reflect on my love life much; it’s not exactly been sunshine and rainbows. I settled on The Five People You Meet in Heaven for this as it made me open my eyes to what could be. There is, of course, an air of sadness to the novel, but if there is nothing to do, it is the perfect short book to reach for to pass the time, and reflect on what is to come and who, potentially, are the five people that you would meet in heaven.

Processed with VSCO with al5 preset

I associate a book that makes my pulse pound with a page turner that is hard to put down, and I have read a great assortment of novels that could be placed into that category, I do love a good thriller or mystery. I chose a book I picked up at the airport when coming home last year; Blood Orange. I could not put this book down once I started it, with every page making me want to know more and more about what was going on with the characters and what was with this orange? Definitely a good read if you’re looking for something more action-packed that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

I used to try to make it a habit to re-read the Harry Potter series over the summer, which only really happened twice and in a few summers I read two or three of the series. So, with that, a book that took me back to my youth is Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. I grew up watching the films, and this was my go-to choice, so it’s only fair to add the book in. It’s great for going on an adventure that ticks the boxes for a book bringing back to your youth, as well as one that takes you out of the real world almost as if you were boarding the Hogwarts Express.

When a little lost, Conversations with Friends gave me a new perspective, while simultaneously, opening my eyes to a new genre. Due to the nature of the novel and its coming of age genre, it was almost reflective in the way it was written. Great for those moments where you need a pick me up and something to think about with a cup of tea in hand. A light book and a light read, compact and perfect for anytime of day.


What are some of your summer recommendations?

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.