I read a book on kindle …

… and I had some thoughts.

So here we are, I told myself that I would never reach for a book on a kindle and I did it. I used to be greatly against them; why would you want to carry a piece of technology around instead of a book? Why would you want a library at your fingertips instead of physically being able to select a book off of your shelves? But, after reading The Haunted Hotel on it, I will say that I see the appeal, and in general have some thoughts.

Of course, there are several positives, it’s light as a feather, can carry it anywhere, and I can see the appeal of it for travel, being able to have any book you would want available, either through prior downloads or purchases from the kindle store. With that, can we take a moment and appreciate how easy it to multitask. I was cooking the other day, and, while engrossed in a book, it’s so easy to put it down and not loose your place and time marking the page and repeatedly putting down and picking up the book. And let’s not forget how easy it is to hold your cup of tea as you read. Additionally, for someone who enjoys noting down various quotes as I read, this was perfect for highlighting those which stood out without having to get out a notebook to phone to type it all out.

My issue with it was not entirely being able to focus on the text. Now, I don’t know if it was to do with the book I was reading or with the whole first time using an e-reader thing, so I will be testing it with another book at some point soon to test what the issue was.


Now, for a quick review of The Haunted Hotel.

I hadn’t heard much about this book, but it seemed like something that would be up my alley but yet, I found myself a little disappointed with it. I found it challenging sticking to the plot, following along with who was speaking and really, who was who. The characters are all related in one way or another, either through marriage or direct family ties, really would need to write out who is who on a little cheat sheet. There were good elements to it, there were definitely moments in it that I enjoyed, and some less. Not sure if it’s something that I would be keen on re-reading it again, but maybe it could be good to have refresher of it somewhere down the line.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.