The Shock of the Fall – Nathan Filer

I have just finished a wonderful book by Nathan Filer – The Shock of the Fall. And I do have to agree, it really is a moving book. Primarily, it portrays the story of a teenage boy from his perspective, it is as if he is indeed writing this book. There is a balance of the good and the bad in it, naturally as any book would have. The most important point to state is that the protagonist is in fact, ill. This should not change ones opinion on whether or not to read the book, for it truly is written in an engaging fashion which makes it hard to put down, I know I read majority of it in one sitting. The simplicity of it is what makes this book suck a quick read, and despite the moments of repetitiveness, it really emphasizes what the protagonists is trying to convey.

I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

shock-of-the-fall

Some quotes that stood out too me when reading:
“It is more than all the stars in the entire universe.” (71)
“Hello my name is potential. But you can call me impossible.” (114)
“He gets fairly repetitive when he’s been drinking, and he drinks fairly repetitively.” (215)

3 Comments

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.