The Happy Couple by Naoise Dolan

It is not often that I have to stop myself from finishing a book in a day, but it’s something I had to do with this one. I don’t feel like I have enough words to express what I went through when reading this book. But, for lack of a better one, perfect, comes to mind.

No amount of nicotine could age her faster than spending a while day with her family. (262)

By far my most satisfying read of the year. I absolutely devoured the second novel by Dolan (author of Exciting Times). It’s been a while since I encountered a book that pulled me in from page one and had me itching to finish it to see what would come of the tumultuous action that occurs over the 267 pages. Come to think of it, I don’t think there’s a singular thing that I didn’t like about it, hence the five stars below. I’m fairly sure this is the second five-star review I’ve given Dolan, and it is more than deserved.

It is no secret that the couple is not exactly a happy couple. Sure, they have their moments and the relationship is fine. But that’s all it is, fine. It is definitely an unusual combination of people, and it was obvious who wears the pants in the relationship – to speak colloquially. They’re one of those couples that’s together because they are, it just happened that way. And so many things between them follow that pattern so the ending, in a way, is expected, but simultaneously, is not. As a reader, you’re not sure until almost the very last moment what the fate of this couple will be, the writer, as well as the characters, really keep you on your toes. I like that in a book, and I’ve missed seeing that.

Rating: 5 out of 5.

One curious thing I noticed about this book – and I think I only noticed it because I dabble in some writing myself AND my high school English teacher pointed out that Twilight was also written like this – is that whenever the characters speak, it’s always X ‘said’ this, Y ‘said’ this with nothing else. No one whispered, no one yelled, they just simply said. Regardless of all of this, the characters are extremely relatable, and on the whole, the simplicity of the writing, as well as the casual nature with which the story is told, only makes everyone more likable. The book is split up into six parts, each told from the point of view of the main character of said part, and while each varies in length, you slide into the character’s shoes from the first word.

For me, one of the best sections of the book was the one titled ‘the groomsman’. Now, reflecting back on it, I think they may have been my favorite character of the whole group. In their section, I could really feel the troubles they were going through – finding a place for themselves while navigating their late 20s, those they love and/or aren’t sure of, the true meanings of friendships, and the lengths you are willing to go to for others, and even yourself. I think many readers would find solace in ‘the groomsman’, just as much as others may find comfort in the various others.

All in all, the book is for anyone looking for a quick weekend treat. Someone between relationships who maybe seeks reassurance that really, you don’t need to have it figured out. Anyone in their mid to late twenties; my favorite kinds of books have been with characters in that age range perhaps to validate that what I’m feeling is felt by all of us.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.